Nursing Birth

One Labor & Delivery Nurse’s View From the Inside

Great Birth Story April 25, 2009

Filed under: Nursing Notes — NursingBirth @ 10:34 AM
Tags: , , , , ,

One of the readers of my blog alerted me to her birth story that she wrote about on her blog Reality Rounds: Get a Second Opinion.

It is a hilarious, true-to-life, personal, and very honest account of her birth experience that she had with her first pregnancy.  She also talks about the skeptics she encountered at said “big city hospital” just because “she’s a nurse.”

She writes, “Moral of this story:  Nurses are not nurses when they are patients, they are human beings.  They are scared, and naive, and looking for you for help. Let’s not forget that when we are taking care of our fellow sisters.”

I couldn’t agree more and as an L&D nurse, I thank realityrounds for reminding me of that.

 

2 Responses to “Great Birth Story”

  1. Thank you so much for linking to my birth story. I certainly was not expecting it, and I’m honored. BTW with baby number two I had a fantastic, dare I say an epiphany, birth. Fantastic midwives, nurses, doctors everyone! I will one day post baby two’s story so readers can have hope that even if your first birth did not turn out like you planned, your next birthing experiences can be life changing.
    Thanks again!

    • nursingbirth Says:

      realityrounds, youre very very welcome 🙂 Thanks for writing such a great story! I can’t wait to read about baby #2!


Leave a Reply

