Nursing Birth

One Labor & Delivery Nurse’s View From the Inside

Believe! A Tear-Jerkin’ Inspirational Midwifery Ad September 4, 2009

The other day I stumbled upon a YouTube video advertisement for a midwife in Albuquerque, New Mexico via a friend’s facebook page.  You’d think that I must get sick of watching videos of births and babies since I am, after all, a labor and delivery nurse but alas, I am a true birth junkie and just can’t get enough!!  I don’t know anything about the midwife in the movie but I have to say that not only do I BELIEVE everything she quotes in the video but I wish that every health care professional that provides care for childbearing familes felt and practiced the same way as she does! 

 

I believe that every mother DESERVES a midwife and that every baby DESERVES to be born into gentle hands!

 

 

 

The following is from Citizens for Midwifery:

 

The Midwives Model of Care

The Midwives Model of Care is based on the fact that pregnancy and birth are normal life processes.

The Midwives Model of Care includes:

  • Monitoring the physical, psychological, and social well-being of the mother throughout the childbearing cycle
  • Providing the mother with individualized education, counseling, and prenatal care, continuous hands-on assistance during labor and delivery, and postpartum support
  • Minimizing technological interventions
  • Identifying and referring women who require obstetrical attention

 

The application of this woman-centered model of care has been proven to reduce the incidence of birth injury, trauma, and cesarean section.

Copyright (c) 1996-2008, Midwifery Task Force, Inc., All Rights Reserved.

 

7 Responses to “Believe! A Tear-Jerkin’ Inspirational Midwifery Ad”

  1. sarah Says:

    That’s it! I want to move to Albuqeurque!

  2. Christina Says:

    Yeah, I’m teary-eyed. I just watched it with my seven-year-old daughter, and I couldn’t help thinking – could this be one of the little moments that will hopefully add up, helping her to realize that she is a strong, powerful woman?

  3. chris Says:

    Absolutely beautiful!!
    The video really sends the message that it is all about the woman laboring and not who she has help. I am so grateful that there are so many strong, humble women who are willing to serve in this way!
    Too bad she isn’t in my area….

    Thank you for sharing!

  4. Joy Says:

    That brought tears to my eyes!!!

  5. Angela B Says:

    I love it!! Thanks so much for posting – an inspirtation. I am due TODAY and can’t wait for the labor experience.

  6. Tracey Says:

    BEAUTIFUL!! I believe!! Six of my ten babies have been born at home and it is amazing and empowering and absolutely the way God intended babies to be born! Thank you so much for sharing this video. I have been blessed.


Leave a Reply

