Nursing Birth

One Labor & Delivery Nurse’s View From the Inside

Urgent Message from ICAN! Please Spread the Word!! October 18, 2009

Filed under: In The News — NursingBirth @ 10:07 AM
Tags: , , , , ,

Hello Everyone!

 

Please check out an urgent message sent from Gretchen Humphries, the Advocacy Director of the International Cesarean Awareness Network (ICAN).  She needs our help to spread the word and send in stories about a most critical healthcare issue:  insurance discrimination.

 

For more information on this story please check out ICAN’s website.

 

Thank You,

 

NursingBirth

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

From: Gretchen Humphries <advocacy@ican-online.org>
Date: Fri, 16 Oct 2009 1

Subject: Urgent request for stories

 

I have sent you this request because of your connections within the Birth
Community. I hope that you will see if there is any way you can assist ICAN
with this request.

 

We have made this request before but now the stakes are really high. Peggy
Robertson
is a woman from CO who testified yesterday before the HELP
committee (the Senate Health Education Labor and Pensions Committee) about
being denied coverage because of a previous cesarean, unless she could prove
she had been sterilized. (We managed to work in a couple of comments about
VBAC bans too! Which got some response from a couple of Senators!)
Senator Mikulski, who chaired that hearing, has asked for more stories
similar to Peggy Robertson’s. Please distribute this request as widely as
you can –

 

ICAN needs stories about discriminatory insurance practices based on a
previous cesarean. This can include but is not limited to demands for
sterilization, restrictions on how soon you can have another pregnancy and
be covered, higher premiums, restrictions on the total amount of benefits
they will pay, excessively high deductibles for maternity care. Even if all
you have is your name, state, contact information (email is fine) and a
description of the circumstances (with the name of the relevant insurance
company(ies) if possible) we can use it. If you have written documentation,
that would be pure gold.

 

There is interest about this at the highest levels of the Federal Govt. and
we will use this to open the discussion on other areas of discrimination
(like VBAC bans, lack of transparency, etc)….so please, take a moment and
get the information to ICAN. You can email me at advocacy@ican-online.org
or you can snail mail to ICAN of Ann Arbor, PO Box 48, Stockbridge, MI
49285.

 

Your story could make a difference that would improve the care available for
millions of women and their babies.

 

Thank You,

 

Gretchen Humphries
Advocacy Director, ICAN
advocacy@ican-online.org
(517) 745-7297

 

4 Responses to “Urgent Message from ICAN! Please Spread the Word!!”

  1. Angie Says:

    Oh my goodness! As a non-American, I find it astonishing that insurance companies can get away with behaving they way they do in the States. Stand up people! Don’t take it anymore! You pay THEM and they should do what YOU want, not what they want.

  2. Kelly Says:

    Dear Nursing Birth,

    I’m a day short of 35 weeks pregnant today and went in for an OB appointment this morning. My doc said that if I don’t go into labor on my own in my 39th week that (depending on how much and if my cervix is dilated) she might put me on pitocin- although she did say that “they don’t induce labor for VBAC patients”. But that they won’t let me go to 40 weeks, and that by 40 weeks they will have to schedule another c-section for me. (I live in Cedar Falls, IA)

    I am shocked and angry! First of all- since when is 40 weeks, too late? My OB says it’s not wise to go to or beyond 40 weeks due to increased risk of uterine rupture. But this just sounds like b.s. to me!

    And how does the doc get away with not telling me something important like this until NOW? Unbelievable. My doc and I have already gone through my birth plan, line by line, b/c I want as few interventions as possible, and no drugs, seeking a natural vaginal childbirth. I’ve taken 12 weeks of Bradley method birth classes to help my husband and I be much better prepared this time, and I have a fantastic, knowledgable, supportive doula. But I can’t believe what a fight it is to have a vbac!

    If I had known sooner that this was the doc/hospital policy for VBAC, I probably would have gone somewhere else. Since it’s so late in the game now, I’m probably going to stick it out. I don’t have to do anything they say, I can always stay at home and come in when I’m ready, and that will be after I am already in deep labor on my own.

    I was just wondering if perhaps this reflects a change in my hospital’s policy for managing VBAC? One of the other OB’s I met with at the hospital said that after a high maintenance VBAC patient a few months ago (who also insisted on a natural vaginal childbirth, and did it, but most of the hospital staff were very unhappy dealing with this patient…?) that the hospital is reviewing whether to allow VBAC at all. I’m probably not helping the situation by openly trying to avoid their planned interventions. I KNOW I’m required to have continuous electronic fetal monitoring… but I’ve also been told that my labor must be pretty much “text book” for continuous dilation of my cervix, and of course no tolerance for fetal distress.

    I just wish all women would know this before their first c-section. If you thought recovering from a c-section was bad, wait till you try to have a VBAC and deal with the red tape and lack of support from the medical community. It’s just so frustrating to have to be prepared to battle, and yet relax at the same time! 🙂

    Have you heard of this kind of change in management of VBAC? That VBAC isn’t even allowed to go to 40 weeks?? Thanks for writing such an informative , educational blog and for being so supportive of natural childbirth! I have enjoyed your tips and insight from the hospital perspective (about writing birth plans, and managing your OB, and also the many ways hospital staff really will be supportive- even if you barf!).

  3. […] Comment under: Urgent Message from ICAN! Please Spread the Word!! […]


Leave a Reply

