Nursing Birth

One Labor & Delivery Nurse’s View From the Inside

Another reason why my niece is awesome….. April 18, 2010

Filed under: Just For Fun — NursingBirth @ 9:47 AM
Tags: , ,

So my adorable niece (who nursed until she was almost 2 years old) was taking a shower with her mom the other day (who is currently nursing my 3 month old nephew).  She looks up at her mom and says,

“”Oh wow mommy, your minnums are so fat.  When I was a kid I usually drank those.”

By the way, she is only 2 1/2 years old now.  As if she isn’t a kid anymore!  Haha!  She seriously cracks me up on a regular basis!  I especially love the use of the word “usually”.  Ahhh, kids….

 

17 Responses to “Another reason why my niece is awesome…..”

  1. mommymichael Says:

    aww i love it.

    when my middle son first saw me nursing the newest addition he yelled “no baby!! don’t eat!!!” he was VERY possessive of them, even though he weaned just 4 months prior. (at 17 months)

    My eldest son like to point out his own “bewbs”. When I correct him and call them “nipples” he says no, that they are his “bewbs”. lmao

    • AUDRA Says:

      MY SON POINTS OUT MINE TOO. HE SAYS CHI-CHI’S AND THEN POINTS OUT HIS AND PINCHES THEM. I NURSED HIM FOR 6 MONTHS AND NOW I’M NURSING MY 1 MONTH OLD MICHAEL.

  2. Katie Says:

    What a great line! I’m currently nursing two (18 months and 6 weeks). I can’t wait until they can actually talk to me about it:) I love your blog and perspective on things! Keep it up!

  3. Kelley Says:

    My almost 3 year old nursed until he was 20 months old. I was sitting in bed nursing his 4 month old brother the other day and he came at me with his mouth wide open. “Mommy! Feed me!” I had nowhere to go but further up against the headboard. Yikes! So I quickly managed to get out “Uh, it’s not your turn. You had your turn for a long time and now it’s your brother’s turn.” It worked. Whew.

    A few days later, we were at dinner with friends and he had a stuffed Tigger with him, and he started calling it his baby. He was sitting on the bench with the other dad after dinner, and said he had to feed his baby. So he pulled up his shirt to feed his baby, and threw a FIT when my husband said he had to hold his hand to walk through the parking lot. “But I have to feed my BABY!!!”

    I hope he’s an advocate like that for breast feeding when he has babies 🙂

  4. AUDRA Says:

    THAT’S CUTE ABOUT YOUR NIECE SAYING “USUALLY” ALOT. MY 2YO SON ANTHONY IS ALWAYS SAYING “HEY! WHAT’S THAT?”
    HE’S REALLY INTELLIGENT ALSO. HE NOW HAS A BABY BROTHER, MICHAEL THAT IS A MONTH OLD. HE ALWAYS POINTS OUT HIS FEATURES AND IS ALWAYS REALLY LOVEABLE GIVING HIM KISSES.

  5. Elizabeth Says:

    My daughter calls my breasts “big muscles” and when she saw my sis-in-law nursing her little cousin she just stared. I asked her how is Phoebe getting fed…and my daughter, she was almost 3 at this point, said she was getting milk from Auntie’s big muscles. then she sucks her breath in so her rib cage sticks out to show us her “big muscles”. So cute. 🙂

  6. wb Says:

    Hoping your new job is going well . . .eagerly awaiting your return!

  7. Molly Says:

    Your neice just told me a lovely birth story of how she gave birth to her baby, Sugar Grass. “A long day ago, my belly was so big. So I called my miff yife (mid wife) Tree Toad, and she came over to my blue blue blue house. I pushed and pushed., finally my baby came out my wee wee.”

  8. Elizabeth Says:

    Hope you come back soon! Can’t wait for an update!

  9. Renee Says:

    We miss you! Found out recently that it’s time to plan our HBAC! Would love some Nursing Birth wisdom during the process 🙂

  10. Crystal Says:

    Oh, wow, that was great! I am nursing an 18 month old who doesn’t talk yet but she does some pretty funny things. I can’t wait until she says something like that! LOL

    Crystal
    kennedymomandwife.blospot.com

  11. Naomi Says:

    Please post some more! I miss your blog— sad face!

  12. Kelly Says:

    Hi Nursing Birth! Just wanted to wish you luck and support on your journey! We miss your always awesome posts, too! I’d love to her more about your desires to become a midwife, or your encounters as a L+D nurse, and *anything* birth-y on your mind! But if you aren’t blogging about it, I know you are still on the ground helping moms in your area! Praying for your strength and energy and perseverance to do everything you set your mind to! You deserve BIG HUGS for all the great work you continue to do and for all the great work you have already done! You made a difference on my VBAC journey, and from the many other comments on your blog it’s easy to see you make a difference to so many more!! We HEART NursingBirth!

  13. jackzhang Says:

    This article is very good, I like it very much. thank you

  14. Donna Says:

    This week, I handed out copies of your blog posts on writing a birth plan to two couples. Wherever you are, whatever you’re doing, I hope you know how much all of us appreciate your words and work. THANK YOU for your inspiration, stories and wisdom.

  15. Loving this post! thanks for sharing!


Leave a comment